2019 Winners of the RWB Stephens Prize Announced

This competition honors the memory of Professor RWB Stephens (1902-1990) who was active in starting the Ultrasonics International (UI) conferences and who contributed greatly to their success.

Meet our award winners (in alphabetical order):

  • Athansios Athanassiadis (Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems)
    Acoustic Sensing with micro‐explosions: Optical breakdown as a non‐contact source for Leaky Lamb wave measurements in underwater plates.
  • Leander Claes (Paderborn University)
    Quantifying frequency dependent absorption phenomena.
  • Michael Gerlt (ETH Zurich)
    Acoustic particle manipulation inside microscale droplets for highly efficient separation.
  • Tim Hetkämper (Paderborn University)
    Evolutionary algorithm for the design of passive electric matching networks for ultrasonic transducers.
  • Christian Kupsch (TU Dresden)
    Super‐resolution ultrasound flow imaging of suspensions in narrow channels.

RWB Stephens Honorable Mention Awards (in alphabetical order):

  • Maxime Fauconnier (INSERM u1032)
    Dynamics of a wall‐attached bubble undergoing asymmetric oscillations.
  • Nadine Feldmann (Paderborn University)
    A sensitivity‐based optimisation procedure for the characterisation of piezoelectric discs.
  • Ruhollah Habibi (Monash University)
    Ultrasonically actived packed bed: A platform for separation and enrichment of nanoparticles in large scale.
  • Caroline Harder Hovgesen (The Technical University of Denmark)
    Investigation of Echogenic Surface Enhancements for Improved Needle Visualization in Ultrasonography.
  • Don Pieris (University of Nottingham)
    Laser induced phased array (LIPA) to detect embedded defects within additively manufactured (AM) components, towards online inspection.
  • Silke Roovers (Ghent University)
    Sonoprinting of liposomes in dorsal window chambers in mice.